Skip to main content

eHumanities and Compliance

The computer-assisted, systematic semantic analysis of a vast variety of digital multimedia data is a true challenge for the humanities/social sciences - not only in technical terms. It also touches many legal issues, primarily with regard to copyright, but also in connection with privacy and IT security.

Symbolfoto Teilprojekt PACE - eHumanities and Compliance

Which aspects of copyright and personality rights are relevant when collecting and processing multimodal digital data? Is there currently any need for clarification and regulation that could be addressed by research at PACE ? These are the questions PACE applies itself to in the centre's practical research work under the umbrella theme 'eHumanities and Compliance'.

Research supervisor

Professor Dirk Heckmann

Professor Dirk Heckmann

conducts research in IT law

Which data merits protection and why?

Which data merits protection and why?

Professor Dirk Heckmann holds the Chair of Law and Security of Digitization at the Technical University of Munich and heads the Research Centre for IT Law and Network Policy at the University of Passau. He is also a member of the federal government's Data Ethics Commission and serves, among other functions, as a constitutional judge in the Bavarian Constitutional Court. From 1998 to 2019 he held the Chair of Public Law, Security Law and Internet Law at the University of Passau.

Zum Inhalt springen

eHumanities and Compliance

Die rechnergestützte, systematische semantische Analyse von multimedialen digitalen Inhalten unterschiedlichster Art stellt für die Geistes-/Sozialwissenschaften eine Herausforderung dar – nicht nur in technischer Hinsicht. Hier werden auch viele rechtliche Fragen aufgeworfen, vornehmlich auf dem Gebiet des Urheberrechts, aber auch bei Datenschutz und IT-Sicherheit.

 

Symbolfoto Teilprojekt PACE - eHumanities and Compliance

Welche Aspekte des Urheber- und Persönlichkeitsrechts sind für die Erhebung und Verarbeitung multimodaler digitaler Daten relevant? Welcher derzeit noch bestehende Klärungs- und Regelungsbedarf kann im Zuge der Forschung des PACE adressiert werden? Diese Fragen werden unter dem Oberthema „eHumanities and Compliance” von PACE in der praktischen Forschungsarbeit des Zentrums angegangen.

Wissenschaftliche Leitung

Prof. Dr. Dirk Heckmann

Prof. Dr. Dirk Heckmann

forscht zu IT-Recht

Welche Daten sind schützenswert und warum?

Welche Daten sind schützenswert und warum?

Prof. Dr. Dirk Heckmann ist Professor für Recht und Sicherheit der Digitalisierung an der Technischen Universität München. Er leitet die Forschungsstelle für IT-Recht und Netzpolitik an der Universität Passau. Im Nebenamt ist er Mitglied der Datenethikkommission der Bundesregierung und unter anderem Verfassungsrichter am Bayerischen Verfassungsgerichtshof. Von 1998 bis 2019 hatte Prof. Dr. Heckmann den Lehrstuhl für Öffentliches Recht, Sicherheitsrecht und Internetrecht an der Universität Passau inne.