Skip to main content

Neoclassica - Using artificial intelligence to identify classicistic objects

The 'Neoclassica' framework offers research tools to study the diversity of classical features in various media: correspondences, intrications and references of aesthetic forms of classicism.

Projekt Neoclassica Logo

Neoclassica uses a dual approach to the object. On the one hand, the project formalises both knowledge in art history and in the history of architecture and knowledge in historical studies as a specific ontology. On the other hand, it allows for the identification and automatic classification of objects, forms and concepts from the age of classicism in digital images and text assemblages.

The Neoclassica ontology is based on the CIDOC Conceptual Reference Model and supplemented by concepts describing architecture, furniture and applied arts and derived from contemporary sources. It provides a controlled vocabulary that is both research-oriented and multilingual. At the same time, it takes into account the diverseness of the represented concepts in the various languages, including English, German and French.

The bottom-up approach employs deep learning algorithms and distributional semantics for knowledge extraction and resorts to classifying information into image and text corpora. Deep learning facilitates object and feature classification in digital images of digital image media and of contemporary drawings, illustrations and paintings. Texts are mined using either named entity recognition or relationship extraction.

The results yielded by these two techniques are brought together in a formal knowledge representation. System access is ensured by a specially developed annotation and curation tool.

In the long run, we hope to upgrade Neoclassica into a research platform sustained by an international community of classicism researchers.

Further information:

Research supervisor and team

Professor Siegfried Handschuh

Professor Siegfried Handschuh

conducts research on the processing of natural language and on knowledge graphs

How can methods used in the humanities be translated into algorithms?

How can methods used in the humanities be translated into algorithms?

Professor Siegfried Handschuh coordinates numerous international research and development projects funded, among others, by the EU, Science Foundation Ireland and Enterprise Ireland.

Maria Christoforaki

Simon Doning

Bernhard Bermeitinger

Zum Inhalt springen

Neoclassica - künstliche Intelligenz zur Identifikation klassizistischer Objekte

Das Rahmenwerk „Neoclassica“ stellt wissenschaftliche Werkzeuge bereit, mit der die Vielfalt klassischer Merkmale in verschiedenen Medien untersucht werden kann: Korrespondenzen, Verflechtungen und Bezüge ästhetischer Formen des Klassizismus.

Projekt Neoclassica Logo

Neoclassica baut auf einem doppelten Zugriff auf den Gegenstand auf. Einerseits formalisiert das Projekt kunst- und architekturgeschichtliches sowie geschichtswissenschaftliches Wissen in Form einer spezifischen Ontologie. Andererseits ermöglicht es die Identifikation und die automatisierte Klassifizierung von Objekten, Formen und Konzepten der Epoche des Klassizismus in digitalen Bild und Textverbünden.

Die Neoclassica Ontologie beruht auf dem CIDOC Conceptual Reference Model, das durch Konzepte erweitert wird, die Architektur, Mobiliar und angewandte Künste beschreiben und die aus zeitgenössischen Quellen abgeleitet sind. Sie stellt ein kontrolliertes Vokabular bereit, das sowohl forschungsorientiert als auch mehrsprachig angelegt ist und zugleich der vielfältigen Gestalt der repräsentierten Konzepte in verschiedenen Sprachen Rechnung trägt, darunter Englisch, Deutsch und Französisch.

Der Bottom-Up Ansatz nutzt Algorithmen des Deep Learning und der Verteilungssemantik zur Wissensextraktion und Klassifizierung von Informationen in Bild- und Textkorpora. Deep Learning ermöglicht eine Objekt- und Merkmalsklassifizierung in digitalen Bildern sowohl von digitalen Bildmedien als auch zeitgenössischen Zeichnungen, Grafiken und Gemälden. Das Text Mining wird durch Techniken zur Named Entity Recognigtion oder Relationship Extraction erfolgen.

Die Resultate beider Ansätze werden in einer formalen Wissensrepräsentation zusammengeführt. Zugriff zum System wird durch ein eigens entwickeltes Annotations- und Kurationswerkzeug bereitgestellt.

Langfristig hoffen wir, Neoclassica zu einer Forschungsplattform weiterzuentwickeln, die von einer internationalen Gemeinschaft von Klassizismusforschenden nachhaltig getragen wird.

Mehr Informationen:

Wissenschaftliche Leitung und Team

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Handschuh

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Handschuh

forscht zur Verarbeitung Natürlicher Sprache und zu Wissensgraphen

Wie lassen sich geisteswissenschaftliche Methoden in Algorithmen übersetzen?

Wie lassen sich geisteswissenschaftliche Methoden in Algorithmen übersetzen?

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Handschuh koordiniert viele internationale Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte, die unter anderem von der EU, der Science Foundation Ireland und der Enterprise Ireland gefördert werden.

Maria Christoforaki

Simon Doning

Bernhard Bermeitinger