Skip to main content

PACE - Passau Centre for eHumanities

The Passau Centre for eHumanities (PACE) was established to address teaching and research needs in the humanities and in cultural studies: It explores new computer-based solutions for these fields.

The Centre

The Passau Centre for eHumanities plays an integral role in the eHumanities research field at the University of Passau. Its guiding theme is: The multimodal construction and reception of cultural patterns. The Centre investigates how texts, image and audio interact in order to attribute meanings to objects within the context of digital and digitalised media. It also creates the structural conditions needed for such research. With the assistance of computers, the researchers analyse patterns in various digital(ised) media and explore the methods used to represent and annotate such patterns and to identify multimedia knowledge caches in large digital material corpora using (partially) automated techniques. For example: computers are able to independently recognise specific stylistic features in photographs of furniture or architectural objects – the technical texts are automatically analysed and combined with the image information.

Research

PACE was established to address teaching and research needs in the humanities and in cultural studies: it takes its point of departure from targeted surveys highlighting the demand for structures to support the eHumanities. Five pilot projects dedicated to specific problem issues in the humanities and social sciences aim to identify methodological and technology needs and develop new computer-based solutions. The concept, which is deliberately multidisciplinary in its approach, takes on board not only several departments from the Faculty of Arts and Humanities (Linguistics and Cultural Studies, Empirical Social Research, Art History and Visual Culture Studies) and various disciplines of Computer Science (Digital Libraries/Web Information Systems) but also the Faculty of Law. 

Over the medium term, the purpose of  PACE is also to devise strategies of interdisciplinary collaboration and provide examples of successful models. In this way, future projects will be able to benefit from the experience gained in the research work.

Funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

Logo "Gefördert vom BMBF"

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research has earmarked funds for the establishment of PACE over a three-year period. A total of nine professors from the University of Passau are involved. Principal investigators are Professor Siegfried Handschuh (Digital Libraries and Web Information Systems) and Professor Malte Rehbein (Digital Humanities).

Research supervisor

Professor Siegfried Handschuh

Professor Siegfried Handschuh

conducts research on the processing of natural language and on knowledge graphs

How can methods used in the humanities be translated into algorithms?

How can methods used in the humanities be translated into algorithms?

Professor Siegfried Handschuh coordinates numerous international research and development projects funded, among others, by the EU, Science Foundation Ireland and Enterprise Ireland.

Professor Malte Rehbein

Professor Malte Rehbein

conducts research in digital humanities

How can historical sources be digitalised and assessed with the assistance of computers?

How can historical sources be digitalised and assessed with the assistance of computers?

Professor Malte Rehbein has held the Chair of Digital Humanities at the University of Passau since 2013. He is a member of both the board of Digital Humanities in German Speaking Countries and the Scientific Advisory Board of Deutsches Museum.

Share page

Zum Inhalt springen

PACE - Passau Centre for eHumanities

Das Passauer Centre for eHumanities (PACE) ist für den Bedarf der geistes- und kulturwissenschaftlichen Forschung und Lehre konzipiert: Es erforscht für diese Bereiche neue computerbasierte Lösungsansätze.
 

Das Zentrum

Das Passauer Centre for eHumanities ist ein wichtiger Baustein des Forschungsfeldes eHumanities an der Universität Passau. Es steht unter dem Leitthema: "Multimodale Konstruktion und Rezeption kultureller Muster". Das Zentrum erforscht, wie Text, Bild und Audio zusammenspielen, um Objekten im Kontext digitaler und digitalisierter Medien Bedeutungen zuzuschreiben. Es schafft zudem die hierfür erforderlichen strukturellen Voraussetzungen. Die Forschenden analysieren rechnergestützt Muster in verschiedenen digital(isiert)en Medien und setzen sich mit Methoden für deren Repräsentation, Annotation sowie der (teil-)automatisierten Entdeckung multimodaler Wissensbestände in großen digitalen Materialkorpora auseinander. Ein Beispiel: Computer können bei Fotos von Möbeln oder architektonischen Gegenständen bestimmte Stilmerkmale selbständig erkennen - die Fachtexte werden automatisch analysiert und mit den Bildinformationen kombiniert.

Die Forschung

PACE ist für den Bedarf der geistes- und kulturwissenschaftlichen Forschung und Lehre konzipiert: Es gründet auf gezielten Erhebungen der Nachfrage nach Strukturen zur Unterstützung von eHumanities. In fünf Pilotprojekten sollen anhand konkreter Fragestellungen aus den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften methodische und technologische Bedarfe identifiziert und neue computerbasierte Lösungsansätze entwickelt werden. Das bewusst multidisziplinär gewählte Konzept bezieht neben mehreren Fachrichtungen der philosophischen Fakultät (Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaften, Geschichtswissenschaft, Medien- und Kommunikationswissenschaften, Empirische Sozialforschung, Kunstgeschichte und Bildwissenschaften) und Teilbereichen der Informatik (Digital Libraries/Web Information Systems) auch die Rechtswissenschaften mit ein. 

Ziel von PACE ist es, mittelfristig auch Strategien der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit auszuarbeiten und Beispiele für erfolgreiche Modelle zu entwickeln. Weitere Projekte sollen so von den Erfahrungen aus der Forschungsarbeit des Zentrums profitieren. 

Gefördert vom BMBF

Logo "Gefördert vom BMBF"

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung fördert den Aufbau des PACE für eine Laufzeit von drei Jahren. Insgesamt beteiligen sich neun Passauer Professorinnen und Professoren. Die wissenschaftliche Leitung liegt bei Prof. Dr. Siegfried Handschuh (Digital Libraries and Web Information Systems) und Prof. Dr. Malte Rehbein (Digital Humanities).

Wissenschaftliche Leitung

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Handschuh

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Handschuh

forscht zur Verarbeitung Natürlicher Sprache und zu Wissensgraphen

Wie lassen sich geisteswissenschaftliche Methoden in Algorithmen übersetzen?

Wie lassen sich geisteswissenschaftliche Methoden in Algorithmen übersetzen?

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Handschuh koordiniert viele internationale Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte, die unter anderem von der EU, der Science Foundation Ireland und der Enterprise Ireland gefördert werden.

Prof. Dr. Malte Rehbein

Prof. Dr. Malte Rehbein

forscht zu Digital Humanities

Wie können historische Quellen digitalisiert und computergestützt ausgewertet werden?

Wie können historische Quellen digitalisiert und computergestützt ausgewertet werden?

Prof. Dr. Malte Rehbein ist seit 2013 Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Digital Humanities an der Universität Passau. Er ist Vorstandsmitglied der Digital Humanities im deutschsprachigen Raum und engagiert sich unter anderem im wissenschaftlichen Beirat des Deutschen Museums.

Diese Seite teilen