Skip to main content

Wikipedia – Cultural patterns in collaborative authorship

In 'Wikipedia – Cultural patterns in collaborative authorship', two subprojects examine the collaborative online encyclopaedia Wikipedia in its capacity as a realm for the negotiation of cultural patterns: print-based conventions of an (encyclopedic-)linguistic and iconographic nature (specific imagery) are adapted and transformed in the context of collective digital writing. These processes are reflected implicitly in the articles and explicitly in the authors' discussions of the articles.

Wikipedia – Kulturelle Muster in kollaborativer Autorschaft

A comparison of the different language versions reveals systematic differences in the content, language and illustrative imagery of the articles, all of which evince the influence of cultural parameters. Controversial content, such as articles on historical-political topics, lend themselves particularly well as starting points for such research since the exchange of views between the participating authors entails the negotiation of cultural-specific narratives and value systems (national stereotypes, collective perceptions of history) as well as visual preferences (image motifs). By paying regard to the image component, the subproject manages to break with the text-centred research tradition on Wikipedia and contribute to a better appreciation of the online encyclopedia as an expression of culturally determined processes of understanding.

Principal investigators: Professor Ursula Reutner (Chair of Romance Languages and Culture) and Professor Daniela Wawra (Chair for English Language and Culture)

Research supervisor

Professor Ursula Reutner

Professor Ursula Reutner

researches cultural patterns

Where will digitalisation take us: towards a unified culture or ever greater diversity?

Where will digitalisation take us: towards a unified culture or ever greater diversity?

Professor Ursula Reutner has held the Chair of Romance Languages and Cultures of the University of Passau since 2009; since 2014 she has held the post of Vice President for International Relations.

Prof. Dr. Daniela Wawra

Professor Daniela Wawra

researches digital public relations

In what ways do collectives construct digital spaces for public relations?

In what ways do collectives construct digital spaces for public relations?

Professor Daniela Wawra is Vice President for Study, Teaching and International Matters at the University of Passau. She has held the Chair of English Language and Culture of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities since 2010.

Zum Inhalt springen

Wikipedia – Kulturelle Muster in kollaborativer Autorschaft

Zwei Teilprojekte „Wikipedia – Kulturelle Muster in kollaborativer Autorschaft” beleuchten die kollaborative Online-Enzyklopädie Wikipedia als eine Bühne der Aushandlung kultureller Muster: Konventionen (enzyklopädie-)sprachlicher und ikonographischer Natur (spezifische Bildsprache) aus dem Printbereich werden adaptiert und im Kontext kollektiven digitalen Schreibens transformiert. Diese Prozesse schlagen sich implizit in den Artikeln als auch explizit in den Diskussionen der Autoren über die Artikel nieder.

 

Wikipedia – Kulturelle Muster in kollaborativer Autorschaft

Im Vergleich unterschiedlicher Sprachfassungen werden systematische Unterschiede in inhaltlicher, sprachlicher und illustrativer Gestaltung der Artikel sichtbar, die auf den Einfluss kultureller Parameter hindeuten. Besonders gute Ansatzpunkte bieten kontroverse Inhalte wie Artikel zu historisch-politischen Themen, da im Meinungsaustausch der beteiligten Autor/innen kulturspezifische Narrative und Werthaltungen (nationale Stereotype, kollektive Geschichtsbilder) und visuelle Präferenzen (Bildmotive) verhandelt werden. Durch die Einbeziehung der Bildkomponente überwindet das Teilprojekt die textzentrierte  Forschungstradition zur Wikipedia und leistet einen Beitrag zum erweiterten Verständnis der Online-Enzyklopädie als Ausdruck kulturell geprägter Verständigungsprozesse.

Leitung: Prof. Ursula Reutner (Lehrstuhl für Romanische Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaft) und Prof. Daniela Wawra (Lehrstuhl für Englische Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaft)

Wissenschaftliche Leitung

Prof. Dr. Ursula Reutner

Prof. Dr. Ursula Reutner

forscht zu kulturellen Mustern

Wohin wird uns die Digitalisierung führen - Richtung Einheitskultur oder Diversität?

Wohin wird uns die Digitalisierung führen - Richtung Einheitskultur oder Diversität?

Prof. Dr. Ursula Reutner ist seit 2009 Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Romanische Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaft an der Universität Passau und seit 2014 Vizepräsidentin für Internationale Beziehungen.

Prof. Dr. Daniela Wawra

Prof. Dr. Daniela Wawra

forscht zu digitaler und multimodaler Kommunikation

Wie konstruieren Kollektive digitale Räume?

Wie konstruieren Kollektive digitale Räume?

Prof. Dr. Daniela Wawra ist Vizepräsidentin für das Ressort Studium, Lehre und Internationales an der Universität Passau. Seit 2010 hat sie den Lehrstuhl für Englische Sprache und Kultur an der Philosophischen Fakultät inne.